It alleviates confusion, avoids misunderstandings, and provides a better game experience. Magic is more fun when it is rewarding skillful play rather than semantic trickery. The problem with the original Cavern of Souls ruling is it walled off legitimate courses of action that we don't feel cause ambiguity at all.
Cavern of Souls is a highly unusual card. It has two mana abilities with dramatically different effects in terms of an opponent's responses. And they're kind of invisible. If you also lost 1 life when you activated the second ability, the situation would be clearer but the card would be worse. But it's completely reasonable to tap Cavern of Souls when you cast a creature spell of the chosen type and expect it can't be countered.
It is what the card does, after all! But if you didn't know this ruling, then an opponent who did know it could take advantage of this disparity in knowledge and counter your spell. This would likely confuse you, so naturally you'd call a judge, who would correctly under the old ruling side with your opponent.
You had every intention of using Cavern of Souls correctly, but you didn't get to because you didn't know. We think this outcome is undesirable. We can do better. The rules must also protect those who don't know them. So we reversed the ruling to what I wrote above. This ruling places more burden on the opponent holding a Dissipate.
The opponent should be aware of what lands were tapped when a creature spell of the chosen type is cast. But, we feel that the controller of Cavern of Souls having to verbally choose a creature type when he or she played the land is adequate notification to that opponent to be more mindful of the game and what's going on.
We didn't properly consider it this time, and for that we apologize. It's an easy mistake to make—the card is so awesome! Active 3 years, 8 months ago. Viewed 2k times. Improve this question. Add a comment. Active Oldest Votes. If you never choose a creature type, then this affects Cavern of Souls third ability because it is linked to the first ability: Linked Abilities There are different kinds of linked abilities. Improve this answer. GendoIkari GendoIkari Might be worth clarifying that Cavern will work as normal if it came into play with no Blood Sun on the field.
Indeed, since that's a major component of the question. I would go so far as to say this answer is misleading in its current form; I'd want to see it edited to make it clear that the statement in the first paragraph up through the first paragraph after the rules quote only applies if Blood Sun enters first.
DavidZ Indeed, I actually misread the question and didn't realize it specifically asked if the order mattered. For some reason I read it as asking about the case where Blood Sun entered first. Ah, that makes sense. Anyway it's definitely better after the edit. Show 4 more comments. Sign up or log in Sign up using Google. Sign up using Facebook. Sign up using Email and Password. Post as a guest Name. Email Required, but never shown.
Featured on Meta. Now live: A fully responsive profile. Related 9. Hot Network Questions. Question feed.
0コメント